This website uses cookies. To read more about them, click 'cookies stored'. To accept our cookies, click the check box then press 'Continue'.

Borders Family History Society

Society Logo
Home Join
Publications Research Maps &
Blog Other
Contacts What's

Our archive and search room is now open on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 10am to 4pm. Keep up to date via our Facebook page and Twitter.


The parishes of Berwickshire are listed below. Select the one you are interested in from the list below or from the map to the right to see a list of material related to that parish.


  1. The parishes listed are the historic parishes not the current ones. Whilst there's nothing quite as formal as a cut-off date in practice it's those that existed in 1855 the point at which Civil Registration was introduced to Scotland and the cut-off date for the Old Parochial Records held by General Registrar's Office for Scotland (and available on the Scotland's People web site).

  2. Both the old parochial registers and the kirk session records for Berwickshire have been transferred to the Heritage Hub. The accession numbers remain unchanged although the records are still listed as being at The National Archives for Scotland on these parish pages
Cockburnspath Coldingham Eyemouth Ayton Mordington Foulden Chirnside Hutton Bunkle & Preston Abbey St Bathans Duns Edrom Whitsome Ladykirk Swinton Simprim Coldstream Eccles Fogo Greenlaw Langton Polwarth Cranshaws Longformacus Lauder Channelkirk Westruther Legerwood Earlston Gordon Nenthorn Mertoun

Return to: